The Surf Teens – The Coast Controversy (1965) Album Edit

For those not in the know, fan albums are the attempts of me and many others to take songs and put them on an album, typically they’re made to improve upon something, such as an existing album or to take non-album tracks and put them on an album.

The Surf Teens are a great band that sadly didn’t get much appreciation. Their entire catalog is less than forty minutes. I couldn’t even find a picture of a band, so attached is an unrelated picture of teens surfing. Their one proper album in turn is very short, with only ten tracks. There are eight other songs they did, which will form this hypothetical second album. However, at least by modern standards, both albums could be considered EPs. Regardless, they’re still worth checking out. Note that I haven’t had much luck in terms of dates, but I think some are from 1965. The album title also doesn’t mean anything. For those that would rather treat all this as one big album, I’ve made playlists that list the second album directly after the first.

YouTube, Spotify

Surf Mania (1963)

TRACKLISTING

SIDE A

  1. “Moment Of Truth”
  2. “Luau”
  3. “Kalini Wipe Out”
  4. “Surfin’ Tragedy”
  5. “Steel Pier”

SIDE B

  1. “Delano Surf Beat”
  2. “Continental Surf”
  3. “Chicago Surf”
  4. “Bull Winkle”
  5. “Intoxica”

The Coast Controversy (1965)

TRACKLISTING

SIDE A

  1. “Moonshine”
  2. “Kalini Wipe Out”
  3. “Bullwinkle”
  4. “Sunset Beach”

SIDE B

  1. “Longboard Surf”
  2. “Panic Button”
  3. “Point Surf”
  4. “Church Key”

This is a passion of mine and if one person likes what I do, I’ll feel honored. I like suggestions on what artist to cover next, so if you know of one you’d like me to look at, feel free to suggest ‘em!

Leave a comment